13
Mar
16

How important is student teaching or practicum for students in early childhood education training?

If you have participated in a practicum or student teaching, what do you see as the positives and negatives? Did it contribute to you being a better teacher? If you are an instructor, what is your opinion?


4 Responses to “How important is student teaching or practicum for students in early childhood education training?”


  1. 1 shirley
    March 18, 2016 at 5:34 am

    I feel I am a well rounded confident individual in and around children and the classroom. It seems to just come natural for me…my true nature is my love to teach. The excitement I see in these children’s faces the smiles they give and they teach me something New on a daily basis. I always say…I’m never too old…to learn. They are just as full of knowledge for me as any I can share with them.

  2. 2 shirley
    March 18, 2016 at 5:38 am

    Every child leaves me with something new each day. What an inspiration that is to walk into a class room knowing just how much these children are going to give me as I them. A heartwarming, memorable and enchanting event for a any day in the classroom

  3. 3 mpinault54
    July 27, 2016 at 12:48 pm

    Those studying for a career in an early childhood classroom need to be aware of the rigors involved in early care, along with the sweetness and tenderness. Though it is a joy to be with young children, it can be mentally stressful and it is a highly physical job. Early exposure in a practicum or student teaching position can help a prospective teacher or CDA see what is actually involved on a daily basis.

    • 4 Deb Pierce
      July 30, 2016 at 8:55 pm

      I agree! I think if more prospective care providers spent some time in an early childhood program before seeking a job, there would be far less staff turnover… Which is so very detrimental to young children. Thanks for the comment!
      Deb


Leave a comment


March 2016
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031